

Substitute Appointments 2012/13

The below are the Council's appointed substitutes for 2012/13 in respect of Committees and Sub Committees where substitutes are required.

A Substitute Member replaces a Committee Member at a meeting. On politically balanced Committees and Sub Committees, a Substitute Member cannot be appointed where the group has no representation.

Changes to nominated substitutes of politically balanced Committees may be made by the relevant Group Leader by giving 6 working days written notice to the Chief Executive.

Changes to substitutes of Committees that are not politically balanced must be by consensus of the Group Leaders and by giving 6 working days written notice to the Chief Executive.

For Appeals, Development, Licensing and Regulatory Committees, Members must be trained before they take part and ongoing records are maintained for this purpose.

Nominated Substitute Members will receive Committee documentation relating to the Committee(s) they are appointed to.

Committees where political balance is required

Political groups may appoint named substitutes to each Committee. On politically balanced Committees where a group has seat allocation, each group may appoint substitute representation. The following substitute allocation for 10/11 Member Committees provides the opportunity for political balance to be maintained and offers smaller groups substitute representation :-

- 4 Substitutes Group membership being 22 and over
- 3 Substitutes Group membership being between 14 and 21
- 2 Substitutes Group membership being between 4 and 13
- 1 Substitute Group membership being 3 and under

Committee	Councillors	Substitutes
Community & Social	Conservative	3 Con, 2 Labour, 1 Ind
Affairs	P.M. Chandler	
	J. B. Rhodes	Conservative
10 Members	M.C.R. Graham MBE	J. Douglas
	V.J. Manderson (VC)	M.R. Sheldon
Political Balance :	P.M. Posnett	N. Slater
Required	D.R. Wright (C)	Labour
7 Conservative	J. Wyatt Labour	Labour
2 Labour	T. Moncrieff	
1 Independent	J. Moulding	Independent
	Independent	E. Hutchison
	E. Holmes	
Development	Conservative	3 Con, 2 Labour, 1 Ind
-	P. Baguley	
11 Members	G.E. Botterill	Conservative
Delitical Delever	P.M. Chandler (C)	M.R. Sheldon
Political Balance :	P. Cumbers (VC)	J.B. Rhodes
Required	J. Douglas A. Freer-Jones	J. Wyatt
7 Conservative	J. Simpson	Labour
3 Labour	Labour	
1 Independent	S. Dungworth	
	M. Gordon	Independent
	Vacancy	E. Hutchison
	Independent	
	E. Holmes	
Governance	Conservative	3 Con, 2 Labour
	J. Douglas (VC)	
10 Members	M.C.R. Graham MBE (C)	Conservative
Political Balance :	V.J. Manderson	G.E. Botterill P.M. Chandler
Required	S. Lumley J.T. Orson	P.M. Chandler
	M.R. Sheldon	Labour
7 Conservative	N. Slater	
3 Labour		
	Labour	
	S. Dungworth	
	Vacancy	
	Vacancy	
Policy, Finance &	Conservative	3 Con, 2 Labour, 1 Ind
Administration	M.W. Barnes	
	P. Cumbers	Conservative
10 Members	A. Freer-Jones	G.E. Botterill
Political Balance :	P.M. Posnett (VC) J.B. Rhodes (C)	J.T. Orson
Required	D.R. Wright	Labour
	J. Wyatt	
7 Conservative	Labour	
2 Labour	G. Bush	
1 Independent	M. O'Callaghan	Independent
	Independent	E. Holmes
	E. Hutchison	

Committee	Councillors	Substitutes
Rural, Economic and	Conservative	3 Con, 2 Labour, 1 Ind
Environmental Affairs	P. Baguley	
	M.W. Barnes	Conservative
11 Members	G.E. Botterill	P.M. Chandler
	J.T. Orson (C)	N. Slater
Political Balance :	J.B. Rhodes	D.R. Wright
Required	M.R. Sheldon (VC)	-
	J. Simpson	Labour
7 Conservative		
3 Labour	Labour	
1 Independent	S. Dungworth	
	M. Gordon	Independent
	L. Horton	E. Holmes
	Independent E. Hutchison	

In the case of smaller Committees and Sub Committees, the allocation of substitutes is expected to be fair and proportionate where possible and on politically balanced Committees this may at times, mean there is 1 substitute per group.

Therefore it is suggested that there be 2 Conservative, 1 Labour

Committee / Sub Committee	Councillors	Substitutes
Appeals	Conservative P. Cumbers (C)	Suggest 2 Con, 1 Labour
5 Members	S. Lumley (VC) V.J. Manderson	Conservative
Political Balance : Required	N. Slater	J.T. Orson J. Simpson
4 Conservative 1 Labour	S. Dungworth	Labour
Council Business Development Sub- Committee	Conservative M.C.R. Graham MBE P.M. Posnett	Suggest 2 Con, 1 Labour
6 Members	J.B. Rhodes (C) D.R. Wright (VC)	Conservative S. Lumley J. Wyatt
Political Balance :	Labour	,
Required	G. Bush S. Dungworth	Labour
4 Conservative 2 Labour		

Committees where political balance is not required

For Licensing where political balance is not required, the appointments will be by consensus of the political groups and the total number of substitutes for the Committee will be no more than the allocation listed above per group.

Therefore it is suggested that appointments be the same as the politically balanced Committees ie. 3 Conservative, 2 Labour, 1 Independent

Committee	Councillors	Substitutes
Licensing & Regulatory	Conservative	Suggest
	M.W. Barnes (C)	3 Con, 2 Labour, 1 Ind
10 Members	P. Baguley	
	P.M. Chandler	Conservative
Political Balance :	P. Cumbers	None nominated
Not required	P.M. Posnett	
	N. Slater	Labour
	J. Wyatt (VC)	
	Labour	
	G. Bush	Independent
	S. Dungworth	E. Hutchison
	Independent E. Holmes	