COMMITTEE: TOWN AREA COMMITTEE

COMPOSITION

Members elected to the Town Area Wards of Melton Mowbray. These wards are Craven, Dorian, Egerton, Newport, Sysonby and Warwick. The Committee is not politically balanced and will have 15 Members.

ADVISORY FUNCTIONS

- 1. To make recommendations to Council.
 - In relation to matters reserved to Council
 - Where such is considered desirable.
- 2. To make recommendations to the Policy, Finance and Administration Committee.
 - In relation to matters of policy and strategic direction reserved to that Committee.

DELEGATED FUNCTIONS

- 1. To exercise the Council's powers and duties in respect of land and buildings owned by, leased to or otherwise occupied by or subject to the control of the Council and used for the provision of recreation grounds, open spaces, cemeteries, church yards War Memorials, community centres and facilities or other public facilities situated or located in the Town of Melton Mowbray and primarily offering services to the residents of the Town and designated as a Special Expense.
- 2. To exercise the Council's powers and duties in respect of allotments in the town of Melton Mowbray.
- 3. To carry out a consultative role in respect to planning and development proposal for the town of Melton Mowbray.
- 4. To carry out a consultative role, where required in respect to relevant licensing matters for the town of Melton Mowbray.
- 5. To exercise the Council's powers and duties in respect of the making of grants falling within the delegated functions of this Area Committee.